Skip to main content

City Council

The residents of the City of Bennettsville elect the Mayor and six members of the City Council. The Mayor is elected at large and each member of the Council is elected from one of the six districts and serves four staggered terms.

Responsibilities of the City Council include: adopting an annual budget, enacting ordinances and operating policies for the government, authorizing contracts, making citizen appointments to advisory boards and commissions, and planning for future needs of the city. The council appoints the City Judge, City Attorney,  City Administrator, and Department Heads. The city operates under the guidelines of the Council form of government. The City Council supports the democratic government process and encourages citizen participation in City Council meetings and public hearings.

City Council meetings are held on the 3rd Tuesday of each month at 6:30 pm in the Municipal Building, City Council Chambers. Agendas are available on our Council Meetings page.

City Council
Name Title Term Phone Number
Leith Fowler Mayor January 2, 2024-January 2, 2028
Gregory Scott, Sr. District 6 January 2, 2020 – January 1, 2024
Tyron Abraham District 5 January 2, 2022 – January 1, 2026
William Jennings, Jr. District 4 January 2, 2024- January 2,2028
Allen Taylor District 3 January 2, 2022 – January 1, 2026
Tyrone R. Davis District 2 January 2, 2020 – January 1, 2024
Wanda Weaver District 1 January 3, 2022 – January 1, 2026